News

Qatar: Kenyan labour rights activist in solitary confinement

More than three weeks after Mr. Bidali was forcibly disappeared by state security services, authorities are still refusing to reveal his whereabouts or explain why he has been detained.

In a phone call to his mother on May 20, Mr. Bidali said he was being held in solitary confinement for 23 hours a day and that he had no access to a lawyer.

Migrant-Rights.org, FairSquare, Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, and the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre are urging the Qatari authorities to immediately release Mr. Bidali, who appears to have been detained for the peaceful exercise of his human rights.

They said: “If the authorities do have credible evidence that Mr. Bidali has committed an internationally recognizable crime, he must be brought before a judge to be charged and given a fair trial. Otherwise, he must be immediately and unconditionally released.

Malcolm Bidali tweets about labour abuses in Qatar using a pseudonym. On April 26, a Twitter user tagged Mr. Bidali in a tweet containing a graphic which Human Rights Watch had used for an August 2020 report about wage abuse in Qatar. State security forces seized Mr. Bidali from his home on May 4, barely a week after the phishing attack.

Stand by us

Monthly donation

Take action
Produce
Share our content
Contribute
mockups_devices_en.png

Actualité

Qatar : un militant des droits du travail kenyan maintenu en détention à l'isolement

Plus de trois semaines après la disparition forcée de Malcolm Bidali par des membres des forces de sécurité de l’État, les autorités continuent de refuser de révéler le lieu où il se trouve ou la raison pour laquelle il a été arrêté.

Dans un appel téléphonique passé à sa mère le 20 mai, Malcolm Bidali a déclaré qu’il était maintenu en détention à l’isolement 23 heures par jour et qu’il ne pouvait pas consulter d’avocat.

Migrant-Rights.org, FairSquare, Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, et le Centre de ressources sur les entreprises et les droits humains appellent les autorités du Qatar à libérer immédiatement Malcolm Bidali, qui semble être incarcéré uniquement pour avoir exercé pacifiquement ses droits humains.

Les cinq organisations ont déclaré : “Si les autorités disposent réellement de preuves crédibles démontrant que Malcolm Bidali a commis une infraction dûment reconnue par le droit international, alors il doit être amené devant un juge pour être inculpé, et bénéficier d’un procès équitable. Dans le cas contraire, il doit être libéré immédiatement et sans condition.

Malcolm Bidali tweete sur les violations du droit du travail au Qatar sous un pseudonyme. Le 26 avril, un utilisateur de Twitter a identifié Malcolm Bidali dans un tweet contenant un graphique que Human Rights Watch avait utilisé dans un rapport d’août 2020 sur les violations du droit à la rémunération au Qatar.
Les forces de sécurité de l’État l’ont saisi à son domicile le 4 mai, à peine une semaine après l’attaque de hameçonnage.

À nos côtés

Don mensuel

Agir
Contribuer
Diffuser
Développer
mockups_devices_fr.png