testimonial_5.jpg

Lebanon: and so, the days go on

—Published on 12 February 2019

// A series of testimonies of “a typical day in prison” (8)

Days go by, but just like outside prison, no two days in prison are ever the same. Prison conditions, the daily routine, possible visitors, medical treatment, food, or even access to the right of defence, vary greatly from one prison to another, and from one country to another. Prison Insider publishes testimonies from people who have been, or are currently in prison, and from people who are able to share their experience. This series of testimonies, “A typical day in prison”, puts the truth behind worldwide prison conditions into words.

— in collaboration with AJEM.

Hussein was arrested over seven and a half years ago. His trial is still ongoing and he does not know when it will end. He is in the Roumieh central prison in Lebanon. He tells Prison Insider what his daily life in prison is like.

Around 10 :00 am, I go to my second job which is in an association (the only active association in my prison).

I learned how to paint with a very specific kind of paint: it is made from rubbish, vegetables, and cleaning products. The paint is my creation.

logo_ajem.jpg

AJEM

NGO

AJEM is a Lebanese non-governmental organization, aiming, since 1998, at improving the conditions of arrest and detention and providing rehabilitation services for prisoners regardless their nationalities, religion, gender and socio-economic status.

Stand by us

Monthly donation

Take action
Produce
Share our content
Contribute
mockups_devices_en.png

testimonial_5.jpg

Liban : ainsi se succèdent les jours

—Publié le 22 janvier 2019.

// Série de témoignages “un jour en prison” (8)

En prison aussi, les jours se suivent mais ne se ressemblent pas. Les conditions de détention, le rythme des journées, la possibilité de recevoir des visites, un traitement médical, la nourriture, ou encore l'accès au droit à la défense, varient considérablement d'une prison à une autre, d'un pays à l'autre. Prison Insider publie les témoignages de personnes qui vivent ou ont vécu en prison et peuvent partager leur expérience.  Cette série de témoignages "Un jour en prison" met en mots les différentes réalités de l'enfermement dans le monde.

— en collaboration avec AJEM.

Hussein a été arrêté il y a plus de sept ans et demie. Son procès se poursuit et il ne sait pas pour combien de temps. Il est incarcéré à la prison centrale de Roumieh, au Liban. Pour Prison Insider, il raconte son quotidien.

Aux alentours de 10 heures, je me rends à mon second travail dans une association (la seule association active dans l’établissement).

J’ai appris à dessiner avec un genre très particulier de peinture que j’ai mis au point, fabriqué avec des déchets, des légumes et des produits de nettoyage, ma marque de fabrique.

logo_ajem.jpg

AJEM

Association

ONG créée en 1998, AJEM vise à améliorer les conditions d'arrestation et de détention de tous les prisonniers, quel que soit leur nationalité, leur genre, leur religion, ou leur statut socio-économique. Elle engage également des actions de réinsertion.

À nos côtés

Don mensuel

Agir
Contribuer
Diffuser
Développer
mockups_devices_fr.png