israel_palestine_plateformepalestine_r_1.jpg

Children, Palestinians, Prisoners

I opened the door. There was a soldier in front of me. He asked me "Are you Tayeb?" I told him yes I was and he grabbed me, twisted my hands and beat me up. We headed for the door that looks out on to the street. My neighbour threw something at the soldier, which put him in a bad mood, and he began to hit me. He hit my face, very hard.
Tayeb, arrested aged 14, al- Fawar refugee camp

When they are arrested, usually in the middle of the night, minors are blindfolded and have their hands tied tightly with plastic rope that cuts into their flesh. Three out of four suffer physical violence when they are arrested. Then they are taken to an interrogation centre without, most of the time, either them or their parents being informed of either the motive for the arrest or the place they are being held. During the journey to the interrogation centre, which can last several hours, they are insulted and humiliated and sometimes threatened and hit.

Most of the children that are imprisoned are charged with throwing stones. Once their sentence has been passed, 60% of them are transferred from the occupied territories to Israeli prisons, in violation of the Fourth Geneva Convention.

A soldier wearing a mask came and told me that they wanted to take me with them. He tied my hands very tightly behind my back with three pieces of plastic rope. He also blindfolded me using a piece of cloth. He didn’t let me get dressed before going out in the cold, nor did he let me say goodbye to my family before leaving. They didn’t tell me where they were going or the reason for my arrest.
Hani, arrested aged 17, Naplouse

Interrogations take place without a lawyer. They can last a few hours or several weeks during which, in most cases, minors remain handcuffed and, on occasions, tied to a chair. They are subjected to naked body searches that are designed to humiliate and frighten them. More than three quarters of them also endure physical violence between arrest and interrogation, in the form of kicks, slaps, and in some cases, electric shocks from a Taser. 20% of minors are subject to a solitary confinement during this time.

He said: "I have photos of you throwing stones." I said: "No, I don’t throw stones and I don’t know the people in the photos." (…) He overturned the chair that I was sitting on and beat me up. He said to me: "You must confess right now. Otherwise we will kill your friend Mohammad". He hit me around the head and I said again: "I cannot confess because I haven’t done anything. I cannot confess to something that I haven’t committed."
Salah, arrested aged 15, Beit Umar

Since October 2015, the Israeli authorities have placed nine Palestinian minors under administrative detention. This form of detention allows the Israeli authorities to hold a person for a maximum period of six months, renewable indefinitely. As a result, an administrative detainee is imprisoned without being charged and without trial, usually on the grounds of ‘secret’ information to which neither his lawyer nor he have access, in violation of international law.

I spent around eight years in administrative detention, not all in one go. When they arrest you they tell you nothing, you don’t know why. They simply give you a piece of paper telling you that you are now in administrative detention for six months or three months, signed by the military commander. There are some words that could apply to everyone saying that you pose a threat to public order or the region or whatever – that’s all they give you.
Ala Abou Maria, arrested aged 15


Read the full investigation on our website.

Stand by us

Monthly donation

Take action
Produce
Share our content
Contribute
mockups_devices_en.png

israel_palestine_plateformepalestine_r_1.jpg

Enfants, Palestiniens, incarcérés

J’ai ouvert la porte. J’ai vu le soldat en face de moi. Il m’a demandé : "tu es Tayeb?".Je lui ai dit oui, il m’a attrapé, tordu les mains et tabassé contre la porte. Nous nous sommes dirigés vers la porte qui donne sur la rue, mon voisin a jetté un objet sur le soldat, ce qui l’a mis de mauvaise humeur, et il a commencé à me frapper, il m’a frappé au visage, très fort.
Tayeb, arrêté à 14 ans, camp de réfugiés d’al-Fawar

Dès leur arrestation, le plus souvent au milieu de la nuit, les mineurs ont les yeux bandés et les poignets menottés avec des liens en plastique serrés jusqu’à entailler leurs chairs. Trois sur quatre subissent des violences physiques lors de leur arrestation. Ils sont ensuite conduits dans un centre d’interrogatoire, sans que, la plupart du temps, ni eux-mêmes ni leurs parents ne soient informés du motif de l’arrestation ni du lieu de détention. Durant le trajet vers le poste d’interrogatoire qui peut durer plusieurs heures, ils sont insultés, humiliés, parfois menacés et battus. La plupart des enfants incarcérés sont inculpés pour jets de pierres. Une fois leur sentence prononcée, 60% d’entre eux sont transférés des territoires occupés vers les prisons israéliennes, en violation de la Quatrième Convention de Genève.

Un soldat masqué est venu et m’a dit qu’ils voulaient me prendre avec eux. Il m’a attaché les mains derrière mon dos avec trois cordes en plastique qui me serraient les mains. Il m’a aussi bandé les yeux avec un bout de tissu. Il ne m’a pas permis de m’habiller pour sortir dans le froid, ni de dire au revoir à ma famille avant de partir. Ils ne m’ont dit, ni où ils allaient, ni la raison de mon arrestation.
Hani, arrêté à 17 ans, Naplouse

L’interrogatoire est mené sans avocat. Il peut durer de quelques heures à plusieurs semaines pendant lesquelles, dans la majorité des cas, les mineurs restent menottés et parfois attachés à une chaise. Les fouilles à nu dont ils sont victimes visent à les humilier et les effrayer. Plus des trois quarts d’entre eux endurent aussi des violences physiques entre l’arrestation et l’interrogatoire : coups de pied, gifles, et dans certains cas, décharges électriques au taser. 20% des mineurs sont soumis à l’isolement cellulaire pendant cette période.

Il a dit : J’ai des photos de toi qui montrent que tu lances les pierres. J’ai dit : Non, je ne lance pas les pierres et je ne connais pas les personnes sur les photos. (...) Il a renversé la chaise sur laquelle j’étais assis et m’a tabassé. Il m’a dit : Il faut avouer tout de suite. Sinon, on va tuer ton copain Mohammad. Il m’a tapé sur la tête et j’ai dit encore, je ne peux pas avouer parce que je n’ai rien fait. Je ne peux pas avouer quelque chose que je n’ai pas commis.
Salah, arrêté à 15 ans, Beit Umar

Depuis octobre 2015, les autorités israéliennes ont placé neuf mineurs palestiniens en détention administrative. Cette forme de détention permet aux autorités israéliennes de détenir une personne pour une période maximum de six mois, renouvelable indéfiniment. Le détenu administratif est ainsi emprisonné sans inculpation ni procès, le plus souvent sur la base d’informations "secrètes" auxquelles ni son avocat ni lui n’ont accès, en violation du droit international.

J'ai passé environ huit ans en détention administrative, pas d'une seule traite. Quand ils vous arrêtent, ils ne vous disent rien, vous ignorez pourquoi. Ils vous donnent simplement un papier vous informant que vous êtes désormais en détention administrative pour six mois ou trois mois, signé par le commandant militaire. Il y a quelques mots, qui ressemblent à un slogan pour tout le monde, di sant que vous êtes une menace pour l'ordre public, ou la région ou peu importe, c'est tout ce qu'ils vous donnent.
Ala Abou Maria, arrêté à l’âge de 15 ans


Lire le dossier complet sur notre site

À nos côtés

Don mensuel

Agir
Contribuer
Diffuser
Développer
mockups_devices_fr.png